2023 R/ED Conference

Save the date!

Oct. 30-31, 2023

Omni Louisville
400 S 2nd Street
Louisville, Kentucky, 40202 

Save the date for CJJ's R/ED conference, to be held in Louisville, KY on Oct. 30-31, 2023.

CJJ is now accepting nominations for 2023 awards. Past recipients can be found on our Awards page. Descriptions of each award and nomination forms can be found below:

The A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award is bestowed annually to recognize someone who has made outstanding contributions to youth, to the organization, and to the juvenile court system, as well as to the broader arena of juvenile justice. The award is named in honor of A.L. Carlisle, CJJ’s founding force. Ms. Carlisle was a volunteer activist who strived to ensure that the nation’s most troubled and vulnerable children would have secure futures. A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award recipients are role models for youth; have developed or implemented changes that have benefited youth; have contributed to the area of prevention; have worked with young offenders; and have spent years improving the juvenile court system.

To submit a nomination for the 2023 A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award, click here

The Tony Gobar Outstanding National Juvenile Justice Specialist Award, named in honor of the late Tony Gobar, recognizes a state Juvenile Justice Specialist who has exemplified excellence in service to others; has been dedicated and committed to improving the juvenile justice system; and has demonstrated compassion and concern for youth and advocates.

To submit a nomination for the 2023 Tony Gobar Award, click here

The Spirit of Youth Award is given annually by CJJ to recognize and celebrate a young adult, under the age of 28, who has made great strides despite involvement with the juvenile justice system, overcome personal obstacles, and is today making significant contributions to society. The Spirit of Youth Award also provides CJJ and the public with an important opportunity to learn from a young person's direct experience about the hard work and dedication it takes to build a better life, and how juvenile justice professionals and systems can most effectively be of help.  

To submit a nomination for the 2023 Spirit of Youth Award, click here

The Marion Mattingly Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated an exemplary commitment to the reform of the juvenile justice system and advocacy for the cause of youth who are involved in it. The award is given to an individual, regardless of profession or vocation, who has given a life of service through dedication and achievement in the field of juvenile justice, as an agent for change, and and a person who challenges the conventionality of the system. 

To submit a nomination for the 2023 Marion Mattingly Lifetime Achievement Award, click here.

The Andrew Smith Racial and Ethnic Disparities Coordinator Award is presented by CJJ to a Racial and Ethnic Disparities Coordinator who has made outstanding contributions to the elimination of Racial and Ethnic Disparities in the juvenile justice system. The award is named to honor Andrew Smith, an incredible voice for youth and a pivotal agent of change.