Homelessness and Juvenile Justice

javascript:void(0)Collaborating for Change

CJJ launched its Collaborating for Change: Addressing Youth Homelessness and Juvenile Justice project in June 2016 with two main goals: (1) to decrease the likelihood that  homeless youth become involved with the juvenile justice system, and (2) to prevent youth homelessness among justice-involved youth.  In collaboration with project partners the National Network for Youth and the National League of Cities' Institute for Youth, Education, and Families, the project will generate policy and practice recommendations, training and technical assistance resources, and avenues for greater collaboration across systems.  The project is supported by the Raikes Foundation, the Tow Foundation, and the Melville Charitable Trust. Its work is guided by an Advisory Committee comprised of over a dozen national, state, and local experts from a range of youth-serving sectors, including representatives from the National Alliance to End Homelessness, the National LGBTQ Task Force, and the National Juvenile Defender Center.



Policy Recommendations: 
How You Can Help: 
Special Populations: 
Additional Resources 
Supporting Organizations and Partners
Advisory Committee

Starcia Ague
ACLU Board of Directors (WA)

Grace Bauer
Justice for Families

Darla Bardine*
National Network for Youth

Sonya Brown
Project 18

Jeffrey Butts
Justice Resource Institute

Judge Joan Byer
Judicial Officer, Ret.

Alex Cawthorne
National Governors Association

Keyona Cooper
Youth Advocate

Margaret Dizerega
Vera Institute for Justice

Silas Follendorf
National Network for Youth

Sabrina Forte
Bay Area Legal Aid

Laura Furr*
National League of Cities' Institute for Youth, Education, and Families

Megan Gibbard
A Way Home America


Jacqui Greene
National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice

Sparky Harlan
Bill Wilson Center

Aimee Hendrigan
Melville Charitable Trust

Melanie Heitkamp
Youthworks of North Dakota

Beth Holger-Ambrose
The Link

Serena Holthe
National Juvenile Defender Center

Amy Horton-Newell
ABA Commission on Homelessness and Poverty

Patricia Julianelle
SchoolHouse Connection

Meghan Maury
National LGBTQ Task Force

Marcy Mistrett
Campaign for Youth Justice

Mindy Mitchell*
National Alliance to End Homelessness

Jeannette Pai-Espinosa
Crittenton Foundation

Jennifer Pokempner
Juvenile Law Center


Josephine Pufpaff
Director of Systems Improvement and Youth Homelessness

Martha Raimon
Center for the Study of Social Policy

Kathy Rowings
National Association of Counties

Justin Rush
True Colors Fund

Michael Santos*
National Law Center on Homelessness & Poverty 

Elizabeth Seigle
           Council of State Governments

Melissa Sickmund
National Center on Juvenile Justice

Diane Sierpina
The Tow Foundation

Diane Smith Howard
National Disability Rights Network

Jason Szanyi
Center for Children's Law and Policy

Casey Trupin
Raikes Foundation

Stacey Violante Cote
Center for Children's Advocacy

Alicia Woodsby
Partnership for Strong Communities


*Steering Committee Member